How is legislative power divided in India?

Legislative powers are divided between the Union and state governments by the Constitution of India. The Constitution divided various areas of government jurisdiction into three lists. The Union List containing areas like Defence, Foreign Affairs, Currency and Communications.

How is legislative power distributed in India?

With respect to subject matter, The Constitution adopts a three-fold distribution of legislative powers by placing them in any of the three lists, namely, Union List, State List and Concurrent List.

How are legislative powers divided between Centre and states in India?

Answer : The legislative powers are divided between the Union government and the State governments by the Constitution. They are divided into three lists- Union list, State list and Concurrent List.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What is the price of mustard in India?

How the power is divided in India?

Power is divided between union government and state governments. State government’s legislature is bicameral in 5 states and unicameral in the rest. Lower house is elected with 5 years term, while in upper house 1/3 of the total members in the house gets elected every 2 years with 6-year term.

What are the three legislative powers in India?

Indian Constitution provides for three lists for distribution of legislative and executive power between the Center and the States; i.e.


  • the Union (Central) List,
  • the State List, and.
  • the Concurrent List (subjects within the ambit of the Union Government & the State Governments).

How many parts are the legislative power divided between the Centre and the State?

The Constitution provides for a three-fold distribution of legislative subjects between the Union and the states, viz., List-I (the Union List), List-II (the State List) and List-III (the Concurrent List) in the Seventh Schedule: (i) The Parliament has exclusive powers to make laws with respect to any of the matters …

Which schedule of the Indian Constitution divide the legislative power between the Union and State?

The Legislative power to make a law for imposing a tax is divided between the union and the states by means of specific entries in the union and state Legislative Lists in the VII Schedule of the Indian Constitution.

How many lists we have related to legislative power?

It includes the power to be considered by both the union and state government. The legislative section is divided into three lists: Union List, State List and Concurrent List.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: What is nature of Hindu marriage?

What are the three fold distribution of legislative power?

The Constitution of India has given a threefold distribution of legislative powers between the Union Government and the State Governments. There are 3 different lists known as Union List, State List, and Concurrent List.

What is the basis of distribution of power between Centre and state?

The distribution of powers between the Centre and the States in the Indian Constitution is based on the scheme provided in their. Morley-Minto Reforms, 1909. Montagu-Chelmsford Act, 1919. Government of India Act, 1935.

What is the difference between separation and division of powers?

This is known as the division of powers. The Constitution also outlines the role of federal parliament and how the powers are shared between the legislature, executive and judiciary. This is called the separation of powers.

How many types of government are there in India?

Three branches of Indian Government: Executive, Legislative, and Judiciary.

What are the three levels of government in India?

It is seated in New Delhi, the capital of India. The government comprises three branches: the executive, the legislative and the judiciary.

What is Indian legislative power?

The legislative powers of the federal government lie within the parliament of India. Thus, the laws that are framed by the parliament of India are enforced throughout the country. In India, the parliament is divided into two categories, Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha.

How the various subjects are divided in lists by the Indian Constitution to avoid conflict of powers?

The subjects include general laws and social welfare – civil and criminal procedure, marriage, contract, planning education, etc. However, in spite of the distribution of legislative powers under the three Lists, the predominance has been given to the Union Parliament over the State Legislatures.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What does Mumbai receive more rainfall in rainy season?

What is 7th part of Indian Constitution?

The Seventh part of the Indian Constitution is known as “The States in Part B of the First Schedule”. It has only one article – that is, Article 238. It was repealed by the Constitution (Seventh Amendment) Act, 1956.