You asked: Are zodiac signs different in India?

Though both Vedic and Western astrology systems have 12 zodiac signs, they differ in their understanding of the position of constellations.

Is Hindu zodiac different?

Just like in Western astrology, there are 12 signs in the Vedic zodiac. And interestingly, the characteristics of the signs are pretty much the same, too. The difference lies in the dates. So, if you swear by the identity prescribed by your Western sun sign, prepare to have your boat rocked a little.

Is Indian Rashi and zodiac sign same?

The basic difference between rashi and zodiac sign is that Rashi is the sign that was occupied by the moon at the time of a person’s birth, whereas, zodiac sign means the sign which was occupied by the sun at the time of a person’s birth.

Are zodiac signs the same in every country?

Although the constellations of the zodiac, which date back to Mesopotamia or before, may seem definitive, they are only one example of those produced by the various cultures of the world, all of which had their own, frequently very different, notions of how the sky is constructed.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  You asked: In which district is Mumbai situated?

How are zodiac signs decided in India?

The primary system used by astrologers is the Viṁśottarī Daśā system, which has been considered universally applicable in the Kali Yuga to all horoscopes. The first Mahā-Daśā is determined by the position of the natal Moon in a given Nakṣatra. The lord of the Nakṣatra governs the Daśā.

Why zodiac signs are different in India?

Because Indians deduct 23 degrees from the visible position of a constellation,it translates into a gap of 23 days between sun signs in western zodiac and desi ones. “If somebody is born on March 24 then his Vedic sun sign will be Pisces,whereas the western sun sign will be Aries,” says Bhambi.

Is Indian zodiac different from Western?

Difference between Vedic and western astrology

Vedic astrology is based on the sidereal zodiac – a system in which positions of planets are calculated based on where they are actually observed in the sky in respect of constellations. Western astrology, on the other hand, uses the tropical (fixed) zodiac.

Does zodiac sign depend on name?

Astrology is divided the universe into 12 parts and each called with a unique name (Start from Aries and ends with Pisces). Individual sun sign depends on 12 parts the sun where it is located at the time of their birth.

How do I find my Hindu zodiac sign?

How to Know Your Zodiac Sign According to Hindu

  1. 1 Aries (Mesha): April 14 to May 14.
  2. 2 Taurus (Vrishaba): May 15 to June 14.
  3. 3 Gemini (Mithuna): June 15 to July 14.
  4. 4 Cancer (Karkata): July 15 to August 14.
  5. 5 Leo (Simha): August 15 to September 15.
  6. 6 Virgo (Kanya): September 16 to October 15.
THIS IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: Which states in India speak Tamil?

Which Rashi is more powerful?


The mighty Taurus is undoubtedly one of the most powerful and dominating signs of the zodiac. They know what they want and also know how to get it either by hook or crook. They are stubborn, determined and tenacious and really don’t take no for an answer.

What culture created the zodiac?

The idea of the zodiac is ancient and has roots tied back to the early cultures of Mesopotamia. The first 12 signs were named after the Gods of these cultures with the Greeks adopting astrology from the Babylonians and the Romans.

What are the Japanese zodiac signs?

There are twelve animal signs used as symbols for each year, and 2022 is the Year of the Tiger. This system is called “eto” or “junishi” in Japanese.

What are black zodiac signs?

What are the names of Black Zodiacs

  • The Tyrant – Aries (Mar 21st – Apr 19th) …
  • The Fallen Demon – Taurus (Apr 20th – May 20th) …
  • The Basilisk – Gemini (May 21st – Jun 20th) …
  • The Serpent – Cancer (Jun 2nd – Jul 22nd) …
  • The War Maiden – Leo (Jul 23rd – Aug 22nd) …
  • The Maelstrom – Virgo (Aug 23rd – Sept 22nd)

Why Rashi is different from zodiac?

Key difference: A zodiac sign means the sign which was occupied by the sun at the time of a person’s birth. Rashi is the sign that was occupied by the moon at the time of a person’s birth.

Is Hindu astrology accurate?

Vedic astrology considers all the planets, nakshatras, and fixed zodiac signs, positions and movements and their influence on human life. This makes Vedic astrology more accurate and dependable.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  You asked: Is Denmark expensive than India?

What is the Rashi of India?

The ‘Makar’ or Capricorn Rasi is taken as the zodiacal sign of India traditionally by North Indian astrologers since centuries. They claim that Varahamihira had allocated the Makar Rasi for India in his work on mundane astrology in the 6th century A.D.