Your question: Is one of the newly formed states of India?

Which are the newly formed states of India?

In the fall 2000, the Government of India, pursuant to legislation passed by Parliament during the summer, created three new states, Chhattisgarh, Uttaranchal, and Jharkhand, reconstituting Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, respectively.

Which state is a newly formed state?

The state of Telangana was officially formed on 2nd June 2014 as the 29th state of India (Now there are only 28 states in India). Telangana shares its border with four other Indian states namely Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Andhra Pradesh, and Karnataka.

How are new states created?

New States may be admitted by the Congress into this Union; but no new State shall be formed or erected within the Jurisdiction of any other State; nor any State be formed by the Junction of two or more States, or Parts of States, without the Consent of the Legislatures of the States concerned as well as of the …

Which is the newly formed state of India and what is its capital?

On 2 June 2014, the area was separated from the northwestern part of Andhra Pradesh as the newly formed state with Hyderabad as its capital.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  When did England last beat India in India?

What does a statehood mean?

Definition of statehood

: the condition of being a state especially : the status of being one of the states of the U.S.

What is required for statehood?

The U.S. Congress—both House and Senate—pass, by a simple majority vote, a joint resolution accepting the territory as a state. The President of the United States signs the joint resolution and the territory is acknowledged as a U.S. state.

What is Article 5 generally about?

Article Five of the United States Constitution describes the process whereby the Constitution, the nation’s frame of government, may be altered. Under Article V, the process to alter the Constitution consists of proposing an amendment or amendments, and subsequent ratification.

What is the capital of all states in India?

Indian States and Capitals

The Indian States and their Capitals
State Name Capital
Jharkhand Ranchi
Karnataka Bengaluru
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram

Which is the capital of two states in India?

CHANDIGARH, India — Since Chandigarh is the shared capital city of both Punjab and Haryana, two farming states in northern India, many of the state government offices are located there.