Who were the members of the Indian National Congress?

The Indian National Congress was established when 72 delegates from all over the country met at Bombay in 1885. Prominent delegates included Dadabhai Naoroji, Surendranath Banerjee, Badruddin Tyabji, Pherozeshah Mehta W. C. Bonnerjee, S. Ramaswami Mudaliar, S.

Who was the first National Congress of India?

The Indian National Congress conducted its first session in Bombay from 28 to 31 December 1885 at the initiative of retired Civil Service officer Allan Octavian Hume. In 1883, Hume had outlined his idea for a body representing Indian interests in an open letter to graduates of the University of Calcutta.

Who represented the Indian National Congress in 1916?

Scholars cite this as an example of a consociational practice in Indian politics. Bal Gangadhar Tilak represented the Congress while framing the deal, and Muhammad Ali Jinnah (who was part of both Congress and the Muslim League in 1916) and Mahatma Gandhi also participated in this event.

Who was the founder of Indian National Congress Class 8?

On 28 December 1885, the first session of the Indian National Congress (INC) was held at Bombay and continued till 31 December. It was started by a retired British civil servant Allan Octavian Hume along with Dadabhai Naoroji and Dinshaw Wacha.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What problem did Britain have after the French and Indian War?

Who is known as Lion of South India?

The Salem riots of 1882 made Vijayaraghavachariar famous overnight. The riot case was highly publicised in the Indian national media and newspapers hailed him as a great champion of civil liberties. Thus he came to be called “The Lion of South India” and “The Hero of Salem”.

Where Indian National Congress was formed?

The army was first formed in 1942 under Rash Behari Bose by Indian PoWs of the British-Indian Army captured by Japan in the Malayan campaign and at Singapore.

Who was the first Indian to become member of the British Parliament?

Naoroji moved to Britain once again and continued his political involvement. Elected for the Liberal Party in Finsbury Central at the 1892 general election, he was the first British Indian MP.

Who was the president of the Indian National Congress in 1919?

The pre-independence era (1901–1947)

No. Year(s) of Presidency Name
33 1917 Annie Besant
34 1918 Madan Mohan Malaviya
35 1918 Syed Hasan Imam
36 1919 Motilal Nehru

Who among the following was known as Lion of Parliament?

He entered the Rajya Sabha in 1978 and has been member of the Upper House for three terms. He has also been elected to the Lok Sabha twice. In 1993, Vaiko started MDMK due to differences with Karunanidhi. Vaiko was known as “Lion Of Parliament” due to his vociferous speeches in Parliament.